Pro Tools
•Register a festival or a film
Submit film to festivals Promote for free or with Promo Packages

FILMFESTIVALS | 24/7 world wide coverage

Welcome !

Enjoy the best of both worlds: Film & Festival News, exploring the best of the film festivals community.  

Launched in 1995, relentlessly connecting films to festivals, documenting and promoting festivals worldwide.

Working on an upgrade soon.

For collaboration, editorial contributions, or publicity, please send us an email here

User login


RSS Feeds 

Martin Scorsese Masterclass in Cannes services and offers



This year's London Film Festival jury has finally been announced along with the shortlist of the films up for Best Film Award, Best British Newcomer, Sutherland Award and the Grierson Award for Best Documentary. 

The Best Film Award jury will be chaired by American actress Patricia Clarkson (Green Mile, The Pledge, Shutter Island) and includes Gabriel Byrne (The Usual Suspects, Miller's Crossing), Sandy Powell (costume designer in The Departed, The Aviator and pretty much all Scorsese/DiCaprio collaborations) and Shekhar Kapur (director of Elizabeth). 

This year's shortlist for Best Film Award are:

127 Hours (dir Danny Boyle)

Another Year (dir Mike Leigh)

Archipelago (dir Joanna Hogg)

Black Swan (dir Darren Aronofsky) 

How I Ended This Summer (dir Sergei Popogrebsky)

The King's Speech (dir Tom Hooper)

Meek's Cut-off (dir Kelly Kerchardt)

Never Let Me Go (dir Mark Romanek)

Of Gods and Men (dir Xavier Beauvois)

The Sleeping Beauty (dir Catherine Breillat)

Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives (dir Apitchatpong  Weerasethakul)

Patricia Clarkson remarked, "It's an honour to be on such a prestigious film jury, and a pleasure to be judging a shortlist which showcases such a diverse range of films from some of the most exciting filmmakers around."

As for Danny Boyle, the Festival will bestow upon him the highest accolade available at the BFI, meant for those that have made significant contributions to film culture. He said of the news, "A significant helping of humility is called for in the face of this honour and that is not difficult considering those awarded it before. I am shocked, flattered and delighted to receive the fellowship on behalf of everyone who has helped me make the films, the successful ones and the not so successful ones, and on behalf of all runt in every litter." 

The award for Best British Newcomer will be judges by Andrea Calderwood (producer of Last King of Scotland), Antonia Bird (mostly a TV director and runs 4-Way Film productions), David Morrisey (actor in The Other Boleyn Girl), Mike Goodridge (editor of Screen International) and Tony Grisoni (writer of Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas and Tideland). And the shortlist is:

Brian Welsh (dir In Our Name)

Clio Barnard (dir The Arbor)

Richard Ayoade (dir Submarine)

Michelle Eastwood (prod In Our Name)

Tracy O'Riordan (prod The Arbor)

Conor McCarron (actor Neds)

Craig Roberts (actor Submarine)

Manjinder Virk (actress The Arbor)

David Morrisey shared "It's a great privilege for me to be on the Best British Newcomer Jury at the LFF this year and that the festivals continues to support new and innovative talent in Britain. It's such a strong year and fills me with hope for the future of our industry, if, of course, we can find government support and funding for these nominees to go on and become world renowned film makers."

For the Sutherland Award, attributed to the director of the most original and imaginative feature debut in the festival. The jury for this award are Ed Fletcher (Managing Director of Soda Pictures), Esther Freud (writer of Hideous Kinky), Michael Winterbottom (director of 24 Hour Party People, A Might Heart and, most recently, The Killer Inside Me), Olivia Williams (actress in Sixth Sense and An Education), Rebecca O’Brien (producer of The Wind That Shakes The Barley and Sweet Sixteen), Stephen Poliakoff (writer/director of Glorious 39), Stuart Boreman (Director of Film Buying at Vue Entertainment) and Will Gompertz (BBC Arts Editor). And the shorlisted are THE ARBOR, DON’T BE AFRAID, BI!, LEAP YEAR, LOVE LIKE POISON, MEMORY LANE, OCTOBER, PICCO, SPORK, SUBMARINE and TWO GATES OF SLEEP.

Michael Winterbottom commented "Film festivals are hugely important events for filmmakers and the London Film Festival is one of the biggest and best. It's very exciting to get a chance to watch films by new directors from all over the world."

The Grierson Award for Best Documentary recognises outstanding feature-length documentaries of integrity, originality, technical excellence or cultural significance. The Award is presented in commemoration of John Grierson, the grandfather of the documentary. Kevin Macdonald (director of The Last King of Scotland and State of Play) will chair the jury, which also includes Mandy Chang (producer of Sons of Cuba) and Christo Hird (Grierson Trust), Charlotte Moore (Head of Documentary Commissioning at the BBC) and Dick Fontaine of the NFTS. This year’s shortlist is:









Kevin Macdonald remarked "The list of documentaries showing at this year’s LFF is mouth-wateringly good and I’m genuinely thrilled to chair the Grierson Award Jury. What could be more fun than getting to see all these great films for free and then getting to passionately argue about them with my fellow jurors?!"

A special hour-long programme, with exclusive coverage of the ceremony, will be broadcast on 7 November, 9pm on Sky Arts 2 HD – including all the nominees and winners, an insight into the juries’ decisions, and a 75th anniversary tribute to the unique work of the BFI Archive.





The Bulletin Board

> The Bulletin Board Blog
> Partner festivals calling now
> Call for Entry Channel
> Film Showcase
 The Best for Fests

Meet our Fest Partners 

Following News

Interview with EFM (Berlin) Director



Interview with IFTA Chairman (AFM)



Interview with Cannes Marche du Film Director
 dailies live coverage from

> Live from India 
> Live from LA
Beyond Borders
> Locarno
> Toronto
> Venice
> San Sebastian

> Tallinn Black Nights 
> Red Sea International Film Festival

> Palm Springs Film Festival
> Kustendorf
> Rotterdam
> Sundance
Santa Barbara Film Festival SBIFF
> Berlin / EFM 
> Fantasporto
Houston WorldFest 
> Julien Dubuque International Film Festival
Cannes / Marche du Film 



Useful links for the indies:

Big files transfer
> Celebrities / Headlines / News / Gossip
> Clients References
> Crowd Funding
> Deals

> Festivals Trailers Park
> Film Commissions 
> Film Schools
> Financing
> Independent Filmmaking
> Motion Picture Companies and Studios
> Movie Sites
> Movie Theatre Programs
> Music/Soundtracks 
> Posters and Collectibles
> Professional Resources
> Screenwriting
> Search Engines
> Self Distribution
> Search sites – Entertainment
> Short film
> Streaming Solutions
> Submit to festivals
> Videos, DVDs
> Web Magazines and TV


> Other resources

+ SUBSCRIBE to the weekly Newsletter
+ Connecting film to fest: Marketing & Promotion
Special offers and discounts
Festival Waiver service

User images

About Tania Martins

Tania Martins

Filmmaker. Student. Blogger. Film Critic. Festival Organiser. Freelance Cameraperson. Explorer. Longboarder. WELCOME!


United Kingdom

View my profile
Send me a message