Pro Tools
•Register a festival or a film
Submit film to festivals Promote for free or with Promo Packages

FILMFESTIVALS | 24/7 world wide coverage

Welcome !

Enjoy the best of both worlds: Film & Festival News, exploring the best of the film festivals community.  

Launched in 1995, relentlessly connecting films to festivals, documenting and promoting festivals worldwide.

Working on an upgrade soon.

For collaboration, editorial contributions, or publicity, please send us an email here

User login


RSS Feeds 

Martin Scorsese Masterclass in Cannes services and offers



Established 1995 serves and documents relentless the festivals community, offering 92.000 articles of news, free blog profiles and functions to enable festival matchmaking with filmmakers.


Share your news with us at to be featured.  SUBSCRIBE to the e-newsletter.  

MEET YOUR EDITOR Bruno Chatelin - Check some of his interviews. Board Member of many filmfestivals and regular partner of a few key film events such as Cannes Market, AFM, Venice Production Bridge, Tallinn Industry and Festival...Check our recent partners.  

The news in French I English This content and related intellectual property cannot be reproduced without prior consent.


Filmfest Hamburg award-giving ceremony.

Filmfest Hamburg came to an end today with a festive award-giving ceremony.

The following awards were presented within the framework of a lunchtime reception given by the Senate at Literaturhaus Hamburg:

Prof. Dr. Karin von Welck, Senator for Culture, Sports and the Media, presented the TV Producers’ Prize, endowed with 30,000 euros, to Bavaria Fernsehproduktion (producer: Astrid Kahmke) for the ProSieben comedy ‘Machen wir’s auf Finnisch’ (director: Marco Petry). The prize-money is available exclusively for contracts with postproduction companies in Hamburg. The jury was made up of the producer and scriptwriter Nina Bohlmann, the actor Burghart Klaußner and the scriptwriter Ruth Thoma.

This year saw the Art Cinema Award Confédération Internationale des Cinémas d'Art et d'Essai (C.I.C.A.E.) being presented for the first time in Hamburg. The award was presented to the German-French-Belgian co-production ’35 rhums’ (director: Claire Denis), which was shot last autumn in Paris and Lübeck. Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein augments the prize with a sum of 5,000 euros for the funding of PR measures by the German distributor Real Fiction. ‘Adoration’ (director: Atom Egoyan, German distributor: X Verleih) received a commendation. The international jury was made up the cinema owners Daniel Lavaud (France), Dietmar Zingl (Austria) and Erdmann Lange (Germany).

Tonight’s festive closing event of Filmfest Hamburg at CinemaxX Dammtor featured the presentation of five further awards:

The Hamburg Film Critic Award, awarded for the fifth time by ‘Der Spiegel’, ‘Stern’, ‘Hamburger Abendblatt’ and ‘NDR 90.3’, went to the American film ‘Frozen River’ (director: Courtney Hunt).

This year saw the second presentation of the Montblanc Script Award, endowed with 10,000 euros, which went to Srdjan Vuleti for his screenplay to ‘It’s Hard to Be Nice’, which he also directed. The Montblanc Script Award is presented in the section “Nordlichter”. The jury was made up literary manager Annette Pauw, dem the writer Dirk C. Fleck and, Günter Berg, Executive Director of Hoffmann & Campe publishing house.

New this year is the young talents award Die Elfe, endowed with 5,000 euros and sponsored by Neue Sentimental Film Hamburg (NSF). It went to ‘Johnny Mad Dog’ (director: Jean-Stéphane Sauvaire, German distributor: Koch Media GmbH). The award was presented by a jury of three, consisting of agency owner Vicki Hinrichs-Rickmers, German actress Nina Hoger and the Executive Director of NSF Hamburg, Sabine Lippert.

Seven films from the “eurovisuell” section competed for the Audience Award, endowed with 5,000 euros. The winner was the French film ‘Welcome to the Shtis’ by director Dany Boon. This year the prize was donated by Hamburger Kulturgesellschaft Harmonie von 1789. The film is released on 30th October 2008 in the distribution of PROKINO.

For the third time, the free TV channel DAS VIERTE presented the micromovie-Award at Filmfest Hamburg. The ten best out of a number of submitted film ideas were made into a film. The TV and Filmfest Hamburg audiences chose the film ‘Gewonnen!’. Jan Schwarze, author of the idea, receives 4,444 euros and takes part in an exclusive scriptwriting workshop.

The Michel Children’s and Youth Film Festival also came to an end today with a festive closing ceremony.

In the presence of patron Jürgen Vogel, the children’s and youth jury of seven announced their decision: the Australian film ‘Hey Hey, It’s Esther Blueburger’ (director: Cathy Randall) receives the sought-after directing prize Michel, sponsored by the DVD supplier Universal Pictures Germany, who doubled this year’s prize money to 5,000 euros. Commendations went out to ‘Home Run’ (director: Francis Leclerc) and ‘Butterflies’ (Regie: Kjell-Åke Andersson).

The Jetix-Movie-Award, the audience prize in the children’s and youth film section, presented by the children’s channel Jetix, went to the Swedish children’s film ‘Butterflies’ (director: Kjell-Åke Andersson).

On the occasion of the German premiere of his film ‘Adoration’, Atom Egoyan was awarded the Douglas-Sirk-Award on 27th September. Every year, Filmfest Hamburg honours an individual personality for their outstanding contributions to film culture. The laudatory speech was held by Wim Wenders.

User images

About Editor

Chatelin Bruno

The Editor's blog

Bruno Chatelin Interviewed

Be sure to update your festival listing and feed your profile to enjoy the promotion to our network and audience of 350.000.     




View my profile
Send me a message