Pro Tools
•Register a festival or a film
Submit film to festivals Promote for free or with Promo Packages

FILMFESTIVALS | 24/7 world wide coverage


Enjoy the best of both worlds: Portal with Film & Fest News and Social network for the festival community.  

Since 1995 we enjoy connecting films to festivals and document the world of festivals worldwide.
We offer the most comprehensive festival directory of 7 000 festivals, browse festival blogs, film blogs...and promote yourself.

The website is currently being redesigned, we will surprise you very soon.

User login


All the Buzz on Film Festival Awards, Celebrity Tributes and the Film Awards Season.

English I en Français I Oscar


Winners Golden Calves Netherlands Film Festival 2017 announced






The 2017 Golden Calves, the Grand Prizes of Dutch film, were awarded tonight during the L’OR Golden Calves Gala at the Netherlands Film Festival (NFF). The Gala, held in Stadsschouwburg Utrecht, marked the end of the 37th edition of the NFF. The live stream of the award show was broadcasted on the official website NPO 1 (public broadcasting) aired a special edition of the TV Show with Ivo Niehe, fully dedicated to the film festival, the Golden Calves and Dutch cinema. The 38th edition of NFF will take place September 26 till October 5 2018.



Golden Calves ceremony NFF 2017


Winners Golden Calves – Academy
Since 2015 the nominees and winners within the Feature Film and Long Documentary categories are determined by means of an Academy System. As with the Academy Awards (USA), the BAFTAs (GB), the Césars (France) and the Lolas (Germany), Dutch film professionals themselves determine the winners. Previous winners of a Golden Calf, members of the Dutch Academy for Film (DAFF) and Dutch winners of international film awards are eligible to vote. 

Opening film Tulipani and other feature films and long documentaries that premiered at NFF 2017 are competing for the prestigious prizes after their theatrical release at NFF 2018.

Best Long Documentary
De kinderen van juf Kiet - Petra Lataster-Czisch en Peter Lataster                                                                    
Best Sound Design
Herman Pieëte - Brimstone

Best Original Score
Tom Holkenborg - Brimstone

Best Editing
Sander Vos - Tonio                                      
Best Production Design
Floris Vos - Brimstone

Best Photography
Rogier Stoffers - Brimstone
Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Marie-Louise Stheins - Waldstille   
Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Mohammed Azaay - Layla M.

Best Actress in a Leading Role
Nora El Koussour - Layla M.

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Peter Paul Muller - Bram Fischer                                                                                      
Best Screenplay
Jean van de Velde - Bram Fischer

Best Director
Martin Koolhoven - Brimstone         

Best Picture
Brimstone - Els Vandevorst voor N279 Entertainment en Uwe Schott voor X Filme Creative Pool       

Winners Golden Calves - Jury
In the Short Documentary, Short Film, TV Drama and Interactive categories, the winners are determined by juries. The Golden Calves Jury for Short Documentary comprises documentary makers Catherine van Campen, Erik van Empel and Femke van Velzen. The jury for Short Film and TV Drama is formed by DoP Mark van Aller, director/screenwriter Anna van der Heide and screenwriter/actress Karen van Holst Pellekaan. Writer and philosopher Bas Haring, interactive director and designer Sara Kolster and founder of Playgrounds International Digital Arts Festival Leon van Rooij make up the Golden Calf Jury for the Interactive category. 

Best Short Documentary
Snelwegkerk - Elsbeth Fraanje        
Best Short Film
Polska Warrior - Camiel Schouwenaar                                                                             

Best Actress TV Drama
Abbey Hoes - Petticoat

Best Actor TV Drama
George Tobal and Majd Mardo - Jungle                   

Best TV Drama
De Zaak Menten - Tim Oliehoek

Best Interactive
Horizon Zero Dawn - Guerrilla Games

Winner Golden Calf Audience Award
Tonight NFF also announced the winner of the Abraham Tuschinski Fonds Golden Calf as voted by the public: Mees Kees langs de lijn. Producer PV Pictures received a prize of € 30.000 to spend on a new Dutch film production. It’s the third year this prize is provided by the Abraham Tuschinski Fund.
Winner Golden Calf for the Film Culture
Gerard Soeteman
Overview of all NFF 2017 awards
A five-person jury of the Association of Dutch Film Critics chose their NFF 2017 winner from feature films and long documentaries that premiered at the festival. The winner of the Prize of the Dutch Film Critics 2017 is Geschenk uit de bodem by Paul Cohen and Martijn van Haalen. Yesterday evening the festival announced the winner of the 'Forum of the Directors' competition for auteur cinema 2017: Quality Time by Daan Bakker.
An overview of all winners of the prizes awarded during the Netherlands Film Festival is to be found here.



User images

About AwardsWatch

(International Media Resources)

All the Buzz on Film Festival Awards, Celebrity Tributes and the Film Awards Season.

United States

View my profile
Send me a message